Mi Camino

Away in body, but ever present in spirit and in mind. (although the latter is often debatable). The last few months I have been aware of my mind, not internally but like this part of me floating above ducking and weaving, picking up nasty things off the ground to examine only to have me wrestle it out of its hands and say; “Yucky, don’t touch!” My mind is like a restless two-year old at times. Hungry one minute, looking for walls to climb things the next, then it  passes out in peaceful rejuvenation only to start it all over again.  I am close to mastering the art of regarding what goes on in there without being part of all the mayhem. I find during my sleepess nights when my thoughts are tripping and tumbling over themselves like crazed Beatles fans that I am not involved with the train wreck of mental fire ants but rather observing it. Last night I rolled over, laughed and shook my head at myself, or my mind rather. It can be quite comical the absolute nonsense it comes up with. Sometimes it’s like one of those old 1920’s slapstick comedy routines, complete with dust on the film and all.  

I am learning and I am excited at the prospect of what knowledge of this life and of myself that I will come to know along my journey, mi camino.

I have been taught a thousand lessons, learned a thousand lessons? No, I don’t think so. I will sit at your feet and listen. I will be strengthened within myself through my humility as I watch and wait and learn. Hard knocks are what I have come to know, mainly ones that no one can see. But it’s the unspoken battles, it’s the wars within that are won but are not told. It’s these hidden victories that let me know I am changing. I am learning, I am becoming, I am on my way.

Leave a comment